Lyoko Freak: 2005 - 2015. Return to the past now....

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:23 am

Programmer Thread

For discussion of computers and the Internet, as well as a place for you to post your websites to gain more traffic.

Moderators: The Administrators, Moderators

Whats your favorite?

PHP
67%
Javascript
No votes
C and any derivatives (C++, C+, C#)
No votes
Ruby
No votes
Python
No votes
Perl
No votes
Java
No votes
Lua
No votes
Visual Basic
No votes
BASIC and I'm a noob
17%
Delphi
No votes
SQL (technically a programming language)
No votes
ActionScript (for you Flash guys)
17%

Total votes : 6

Programmer Thread

Postby TheLQ » Thu Feb 04, 2010 8:52 pm

Due to the lack of discussion in this forum...

I'm curious to how many programmers we have here on Lyokofreak. I've heard people talk about PHP, C, ruby, but I don't know if those people have actually used those languages or how many.

READ BEFORE POLLING: HTML is NOT a programming language, its a MARKUP languages. Consult the following list for more description

Markup Languages - "Programs" that do not make decisions. They simply format the text to a different way. Keywords: Tags, markup, *ML
Examples:
-BBcode
-HTML
-CSS
-JSON
-XML

Programming Languages - Programs that make decisions. If this, do this; else do this. Keywords: If...else, looping, conditional statements, etc
Examples
-PHP
-Java
-C++
-Ruby
-Python
-Javascript
-Perl
-Actionscript
-And many many more

NOTE: If your language is not listed, tell me and I will add it.

Personally I like PHP. Simple, easy to learn, gets the job done. For desktop apps I like Java but am trying to learn Python. I'm not too familiar with any other desktop languages since I was a web programmer for a long time. In webland I can write HTML, CSS, JS, PHP, and ASP (unfortunately)
TheLQ offline
Star Fighter
Star Fighter

Postby TheAppleFreak » Thu Feb 04, 2010 9:23 pm